Tulse hill residents take to the polls

Lambeth Town Hall, by Laura Spargo
Lambeth Town Hall, by Laura Spargo

By Laurice Laird

Residents have an opportunity to elect a new councillor at the Tulse hill by-election happening today, July 25th.

The London borough of Lambeth has published a notice of election to fill the vacant councillor position for Tulse Hill ward, after the sudden death of Cllr Ruth Ling.

The eight candidates who have been nominated are: Amna Ahmad of the Liberal Democrats party, Labour party candidate Mary Atkins, Bernard Newton Atwell of the Green party, Conservative party candidate Timothy Peter Briggs, Adam Buick of the Socialist party, Elizabeth Eirwen Jones of the UK Independence party (UKIP), Steve Nally of the trade unionist and socialist coalition and Independent Valentine Walker.

Voters can vote in their assigned polling station. They are: St. Matthew’s estate tenants hall, Raleigh park centre, Jubilee primary school, Holy Trinity CE primary school and St. Martins community centre. Your polling card will tell you which one you should attend to vote.

Voters can vote until 10pm.

For more information on the candidates, click here.


  1. The phrasing of the fourth paragraph gives a slightly wrong impression – there are several polling stations in the ward yes but but voters can only vote at one of them: the one stated on their polling card. You do not need a polling card to vote – just turn up and state name and address

Comments are closed.