Brixton Hill by-election count underway at Lambeth Town Hall

Sudbourne Primary polling station
Sudbourne Primary polling station

Ballot counting has begun in Lambeth Town Hall for the by-election in Brixton Hill.

A handful of the seven candidates and their agents were present in Room 8 of the Town Hall as 10 people started counting the ballot papers at 10pm, when polling stations closed.

The by-election was triggered when former councillor and council leader, Steve Reed, resigned after becoming MP for Croydon North last year.

At the last local elections for Brixton Hill, three Labour councillors won seats with a total share of 43 per cent of the vote. Turnout at that election was 59 per cent, meaning 6,690 voters of an electorate of 11,332.

The turnout for todays by-election is expected to be far lower than that.

The Blog is present at the count, and will bring you the result as soon as it is announced, expected to be at around 11.30pm.

The seven candidates standing in the election are: